Hard Time for Evanger’s?

The owners of the troubled Evanger’s pet food company are in the pokey:

A Lincolnwood couple has been charged with money laundering and theft for illegally diverting about $2 million worth of natural gas and electricity over the past several years to their Wheeling pet food company, prosecutors say.

[…]

Bail was set at $250,000 for Joel Sher and $200,000 for [Holly Sher] in a hearing midday today.

If Holly Sher is released on bail, she will be allowed to travel to Orlando, Florida, for a trade show, and to Los Angeles for a Seder celebration for cats and dogs, according to the conditions of bail.

They were reportedly turned in by an ex-employee.  While they are presumed innocent until proven otherwise I do wonder, given the nature of the charges, if I’d want to be manning the booth at a trade show for my company right now.  If I was innocent, I’d probably want to focus on my defense to clear my name.  And if I was guilty well, I think I’d still want to focus on my defense.  There is such a thing as bad publicity.

Leave a Reply