Tha Hell?

May 28, 2010

I can’t figure this website out.  (In fairness, it does say it’s under construction.)  Maybe some of you smart people can chime in with your interpretations.  And by all means, if you have any additional information on the no kill shelter mentioned on the website, please share.

Basically, what I’m getting is that this place has been a no kill shelter for dogs, cats and horses in WI for 13 years.  I can’t figure out what the name of the shelter is.  I’ve tried some searches but – nada.  Apparently the person who operates the shelter finances it by selling Golden Retriever and Standard Poodle puppies.  I can’t figure out if they sell dog houses too.

The home page has several photos of Goldens and one dog that I guess is a Poodle with a weird haircut.  If you click on that dog’s photo, you can get a link to his pedigree.  His AKC registered name contains the word “Goldendoodle” which would of course be a cross between a Golden and a Poodle but that’s not what’s being advertised on this site, at least with what they’ve got up so far.

There is a photo page called “Puppy Training” which shows 2 litters of Golden pups crammed into a wire crate in front of what might be the biggest ball of tin foil ever.  I don’t know, I think I’m just punchy from reading the text on that site.

There are no photos of any dogs, cats or horses that are current or past residents of the shelter.  Maybe those photos are still to come.  It seems a little odd because most rescues with websites put up info on the pets they are trying to rehome ASAP.

Thank you to reader Clarice for sending me this link!

16 Responses to “Tha Hell?”

  1. Pibble Says:

    The English is pretty poor, too. I clicked on their Petfinder link, but it just goes to the main Petfinder page. I also looked in Guidestar, but nothing came up.

    Bogus site, I’m thinking. A little too fishy.

  2. Janet Says:

    The dog that looks like a poodle with a weird haircut, is, I believe, a poodle/golden cross. I would bet the information on this site is less than truthful.

    • YesBiscuit Says:

      That was my first impression too. But he is represented as having an AKC pedigree which says he’s a cream Poodle. Far be it from me to question the AKC.

      • Pai Says:

        Well… he could be a real purebred Poodle, just really -badly- bred. Given enough generations of careless breeding, even a purebred dog could start looking nothing like a proper member of it’s breed.

  3. tundrah Says:

    I second the lack of English-as-a-first-language theory.

    Whole thing is fishy with a side of fish sauce, especially that “Poodle” pedigree…

  4. Clarice Says:

    Have a Heart Dog Homes has animals listed on two rescue sites:

    http://www.adoptapet.com/shelter74299-pets.html

    http://dogtime.com/shelters/US-WI/5569-oxford-have-a-heart-dog-homes

    All the animals are young with no information about the animal before it was “rescued”. The cat, Crista, “is very connected to her owner.” Why is she searching for her forever home if she has an owner?It seems to me they should not be listed on animal shelter sites if they are not rescues.


  5. Ummmm, wow! Only by breeding purebred puppies you can afford to care for the strays? How about you just find homes for the ones you have without adding more unaltered dogs to the mix, mkay?

    By the way, the first thing my 7yo said why she saw the “puppy training” picture was: those poor puppies need more room!

  6. jen Says:

    they are ‘adopting out’ goldendoodle puppies.

    come on.

    maybe petfinder found out that they are passing pups they bred as rescues and took them down.

    ugh.

  7. Feline Provocateur Says:

    I ran a Spokeo search on the “Contact Us” email haveaheartwisc@yahoo.com. Here’s what I came up with:

    http://www.barnmice.com/profile/LeettaLMarshall

    Seems her name is Leetta L. Marshall.

    Also, Petfinder.com is pretty strict about wanting to see 501c3 paperwork before they will let a rescue group set up a Petfinder page. It might be worth sending them a note.

  8. H. Houlahan Says:

    God on the first page of the puppy-sales site, too.

    Button your wallet when Jaysus endorses the pitchman.

    Hoarder/puppymiller justifying herself as a “rescue.” It’s an increasingly common profile these days. Greed + Pathology is elastic to what will resonate in the culture, and right now people are primed to fall for “rescue” as a justification for willful ignorance and lack of impulse control in sourcing their pets.

    I don’t believe this person has a different native language, but I’m loathe to identify English as her “first” language as that would imply that she has mastered it.

    This is on the order of the Craig’s list gibberish I often get in reply to ads. Sometimes I can’t even tell what it is the person wants or is trying to say.

  9. Hamilton Says:

    People are giving Petfinder waaaay too much credit.

    No, even if they found out the people were selling their own puppies, they would NOT take down the site. We have two phony “rescues” in our area that have been reported numerous times. Check out the fight that the AW community has been having with Petfinder about the “rescue” run by Burt Ward, Gentle Giants.

    http://www.gentlegiantnews.com/index.php

    Check out some of the videos Gentle Giants sends out, where they claim that their rescue purebreds are all drool free… the claims are almost as crazy as that wolf breeder site Dogster has been going nuts over.

    Also, the only thing Petfinder requires is a letter from a veterinarian stating that the rescue brings animals to them. That’s it. I know, because my own rescue is listed on Petfinder.

    A listing on Petfinder is proof of the ability to do paperwork, not anything else.

  10. Hamilton Says:

    http://www.dogster.com/forums/Choosing_the_Right_Dog/thread/671215

    Is the dogster thread I was referring to yesterday.

    http://wolfhavenspiritofthepast.webs.com/

    Is the URL of the breeder.

    This is a MUST read (Shirley, this – and the Gentle Giants fiasco – would both make great blog posts).

    The woman is out of her friggin mind… or this is a prank like the jar kittehs.

    This woman claims that dogs come from Lions and are actually Felines. And before you can recover from that tidbit, let me tell you that is soooooo not the craziest thing she says. Read the site, read the many, many, many pages of commentary on dogster.

    Both cases would be hilarious if real dogs weren’t involved. Seriously… “dry mouth” rescue dogs owned by people who supposedly feed 1,400lbs of dog food to 45 dogs each day (uh… yeah. Each dog eats a 30lb bag of food each day. Riiiiight). Wolves (who are actually felines) whose eyes store light like solar panels so that at night their eyes are like flashlights – and don’t forget, they can’t get fleas or ticks because their skin sucks the moisture out of the bugs on contact, killing them.

    Seriously, the site in question in the original blog post has *nothing* on some of the wackos that are out there.

  11. Lori Says:

    You really need to see and smell the place to appreciate it. The yard, barn, house is over run by animals of all kinds. There had to be over 100 dogs and puppies running wild in the house alone!! What was caged or tied up was anyone’s guess. Buyer beware before you make a purchase from Leeta Marshall. Vet checked? HA HA HA HA Do not take your animal anywhere near there if you are planning on adopting from her. The clothes I had worn to pick up my 3 yr old “Puppy” had to be thrown away. I had no idea she was an animal hoarder and had a house full of animals, urine and feces. The entire place is a disgrace and needs to be shut down.


Speak!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 655 other followers

%d bloggers like this: